Kontakt
Presse
Akkreditierung

The power of light and the poetry of darkness: do you dream what you see or do you see what you dream?

 

1st Netzhaut Ton Film Festival Wiener Neustadt
27th-30th August 2020
4 days of film and sound

 

Films, concerts, live events and cinema under the stars: The “Netzhaut Ton Film Festival” Wiener Neustadt takes place in the Mayor’s Garden (“Bürgermeistergarten”) right in front of the “Museum St. Peter an der Sperr” and in the cinema in the Wiener Neustadt city theatre (“Stadttheater”).

 

The retina: Where the image is upside down

 

The focus of the Netzhaut Ton Film Festival Wiener Neustadt is not on the multitude of films but on the content and approaches. Double features combine a feature film and a documentary to form a thematic focus, looking for areas of friction, exploring social combat zones and demanding discourse.

Forewords

With the Netzhaut Ton Film Festival we are continuing the long tradition of film that has shaped our city. Wiener Neustadt has already made a name for itself with international festivals and open-air events in the past. With Netzhaut, thanks to the commitment of Katharina Stemberger and Fabian Eder, we are now able to set completely new accents in this area and offer films at the highest level. The Bürgermeistergarten has been transformed into a popular event location since the renovation in 2019, which offers incomparable flair, and which will therefore also make the festival a special event. Simultaneously we rely on the city theatre, where a theatre cinema was located for many decades and where we were able to revive the tradition with a high-quality film program a few years ago. The aim of the festival is to deepen the film in our city and to set a visible sign for the art of filming in Wiener Neustadt.


Mayor Wiener Neustadt
Klaus Schneeberger

 

Dear culture enthusiasts!
Dear visitors!

Lower Austria has an excellent reputation as a country of culture both nationally and internationally. The many facilities and initiatives of our state offer visitors a diverse cultural programme, in a wide variety of shades.
I am glad that the "Netzhaut Ton Film Festival" was launched this year, despite the great challenges of the past few months.
Festivals like this once again show our open-mindedness, dynamics and creativity in the state of Lower Austria.

I wish the initiators of the “Netzhaut Ton Film Festival” all the best for the first edition and you wonderful events!

Governor 
Johanna Mikl-Leitner

Tickets
The day ticket includes all chargeable events of the day, with the exception of the walking concerts, for which an additional ticket must be purchased. It is not possible to buy day tickets online. Day tickets must be reserved by calling 02622 373 311. The tickets can be picked up and paid for at the info point in the Old Town Hall (Hauptplatz 1-3) from the time of reservation; but no later than 1 hour before the start of the performance at the respective venue, after which the reservation expires automatically.

At the Stadtheater you can pay by card and cash. At the Bürgermeistergarten you can only pay cash.

Buy Tickets
 

Directions
The excellent connection from Wiener Neustadt also enables most festival visitors to travel to the festival easily, inexpensively and environmentally friendly by public transport. The venues are just a few minutes' walk from the train station.

Stadttheater Wiener Neustadt: Herzog-Leopold-Straße 17
Bürgermeistergarten: Johannes-von-Nepomuk-Platz 1

The last train back to Vienna leaves at 12:11 am and arrives at Vienna Central Station at 12:59 am.

More Information

Accommodation
Wr. Neustadt offers overnight stays in all price ranges.

Infopoint Altes Rathaus:
Hauptplatz 1–3, 2700 Wiener Neustadt
Telefon: +43 2622 373-311 
office@wiener-neustadt.at

Hotel Recommendations

Film Program
We show international feature films, documentary films and up-and-coming young filmmakers as part of our three-part program series. In the presence of the filmmakers, the selection is dedicated to this year's focus on Truth and Reality.

To The Program

Up-and-Coming
They come from film schools and they will shape the image of our world in the future: genuine, fresh, humorous, furious, lamenting, rebellious. Today they show what we will see tomorrow: the filmmakers of tomorrow!

To the Program

Music Program
The music program transforms the city centre into a venue and listening area and connects the city theatre and the Mayor's Garden.

To The Program

Mayor’s Garden
Breakfast, sundowners, concerts, panel discussions and cinema under the stars: audiences, young people, filmmakers, musicians and the press meet in the shade of the trees in the Mayor’s Garden.

Jury Feature Film


Tereza Kotyk
Born in Prague, Tereza Kotyk lives and works as a writer and director in Austria. She studied at the universities in Vienna, Innsbruck and Dijon, attended the Actor’s Studio in Manchester and has the EKRAN certificate from the Wajda Film School in Warsaw. Her film Home is Here was screened at the International Film Festival Prague, the Festival del Cinema Europeo Lecce, the Filmkunstfest Schwerin and many more. She received the Filmkunstfest Schwerin screenplay award.
www.homeishere.at

 


Riem Higazi
The presenter Riem Higazi was born in Egypt and grew up in Lower Austria and Canada. She moderates the Austrian radio station FM4, inter alia the programs Update or Reality Check and occasionally supports the Morning Show team.


Gregor Seberg
The actor and cabaret artist Gregor Seberg was born in Graz and studied at the Music and Art Private University in Vienna. He has appeared in countless TV and cinema productions and is known to a wide audience from the series Soko Donau, in which he played a leading role for a long time.
www.gregorseberg.at

Jury Documentay


Houchang Allahyari
Houchang Allahyari was born in Tehran (Iran) in 1941, came to Austria as a teenager, studied medicine and is still a specialist in psychiatry and neurology. Allahyari is known to the general public as a director of successful cinema films that have received awards at numerous international festivals.


Lukas Beck
The photographer Lukas Beck studied ethnology at the University of Vienna. His work specializes in music, theater and film. His pictures have been shown in the Vienna Leopold Museum, the Westlicht Photo Gallery and the Palais Coburg and he has photographed for many Austrian and international media, including for Die Zeit or The New York Times.
www.lukasbeck.com


Peter Hudler
For the Viennese cellist Peter Hudler, his instrument is by far not only at home in the classical orchestra. Although he is dedicated to chamber music, he likes to combine genres from baroque to rock, jazz, classic modern and improvisational elements. Peter Hudler has performed as a solo cellist, among others with the Camerata Salzburg, the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg, the Niederösterreichischen, Le Concert Olympique and at the Vienna State Opera.
www.peterhudler.com

Jury Up-and-Coming


Kurt Schwertsik
Without a doubt, it is thanks to Kurt Schwertsik's humorous and ironic disposition that Schwertsik is not only one of the most played contemporary Austrian composers. Schwertsik taught at the University of California, at the Vienna Conservatory and until his retirement in 2003 at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna. Kurt Schwertsik celebrated his 85th birthday in June this year.


Luz Olivares Capelle
Luz Olivares Capelle was born in Argentina and studied at the E.N.E.R.C in Buenos Aires, as well as at the Film Academy and the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna. Her work has been awarded the Austrian Film Prize for Short Film, the Max Ophüls Prize, the Grand Prix for International Short Film at the Cork Film Festival and the prize for the best Austrian fiction short film on the Diagonale and on VIS.
www.luzolivarescapelle.com


Alexandra Schneider
Born in Switzerland, Alexandra Schneider trained as a social scientist before finally directing and editing at the Vienna Film Academy. As director and / or editor, Alexandra Schneider is responsible for a large number of films, for which she, among others, was awarded the Social Awareness Award at the Crossing Europe Festival Linz and the audience award of the Human Rights Film Festival.

Artistic Directors
The focus of the Netzhaut Ton Film Festival Wiener Neustadt is not on the multitude of films. With so-called »Double Features« we are looking for a combination of a feature film and a documentary film for areas of artistic friction, for social battlegrounds and for an exchange with the audience. We show international feature films, documentary films and up-and-coming young filmmakers as part of our three-part program series. In the presence of the filmmakers, the selection is dedicated to this year's focus on “Truth and Reality”. Each evening there will be a big open-air event at the Mayor’s Garden.

"The Netzhaut Ton Film Festival is an exchange about film and music while having an espresso or sundowner, conversations with refreshing new impulses with a summer feeling under the starry sky” - Katharina Stemberger and Fabian Eder, artistic directors

Musical Directors
Their songs are stunningly beautiful, in an almost calming modesty they stop the time, as if it was the most natural thing, and we, who listen, wish that this fleeting moment may remain. The music program of 2020 will be curated and designed by “Die Strottern”, Klemens Lendl and David Müller … and they will be performing as well!

Team

Artistic Directors
Katharina Stemberger, Fabian Eder

Film Program
Daniel Ebner, Fabian Eder, Sigrid Hadenius, Astrid Heubrandtner

Music Program and Events
Klemens Lendl, David Müller, Katharina Stemberger

Hosts
Bernhard Fellinger, Katharina Stemberger

Production Management
Hanne Lassl, Astrid Heubrandtner

Coordination Stadt Wiener Neustadt
Stefan Kumnig

Press
IJK | presse + marketing, Ines Kaizik-Kratzmüller

Translations
Team English Whitfield, Wiener Neustadt

Social Media & Web Editor
Gregor Schmidinger

Branding & Website
CIN CIN – Studio for Motion, Print & Web Design

Kontakt
Presse
Akkreditierung

Die Kraft des Lichtes und die Poesie der Dunkelheit: Träumst Du, was Du siehst, oder siehst Du, was Du träumst?

 

1. Netzhaut Ton Film Festival Wiener Neustadt
27.–30. August 2020
4 Tage Film und Musik

 

Filme, Konzerte, Live Veranstaltungen und Kino unter Sternen: Das Netzhaut Ton Film Festival Wiener Neustadt findet im Bürgermeistergarten vor dem Museum St. Peter an der Sperr und im Kino im Stadttheater Wiener Neustadt statt.

 

Die Netzhaut: Wo das Bild am Kopf steht

 

Nicht die Vielzahl der Filme steht im Vordergrund, sondern Inhalte und Herangehensweisen. In Doublefeatures kombinieren wir jeweils einen Spiel- und einen Dokumentarfilm zu einem thematischen Schwerpunkt und suchen nach Reibungsflächen, loten gesellschaftliche Kampfzonen aus und fordern den Diskurs.

 

Vorworte

Mit dem Netzhaut Ton Film Festival knüpfen wir an die lange Tradition des Films, die unsere Stadt geprägt hat, an. Bereits in der Vergangenheit konnte sich Wiener Neustadt mit internationalen Festivals und Open Air-Veranstaltungen einen Namen machen. Mit Netzhaut gelingt es uns nun – dank des Engagements von Katharina Stemberger und Fabian Eder – ganz neue Akzente in diesem Bereich zu setzen und Film auf höchstem Niveau zu bieten. Der Bürgermeistergarten hat sich seit dem Umbau 2019 zu einer beliebten Eventlocation verwandelt, die unvergleichliches Flair bietet, und der daher auch das Festival zu einer besonderen Veranstaltung machen wird. Gleichzeitig setzen wir auf das Stadttheater, in dem viele Jahrzehnte lang ein Theaterkino angesiedelt war und wo wir vor ein paar Jahren die Tradition mit einem hochwertigen Filmprogramm wieder aufleben lassen konnten. Ziel ist es, den Film durch das Festival noch tiefer in unserer Stadt zu verwurzeln und ein sichtbares Zeichen für die Filmkunst in Wiener Neustadt zu setzen.


Bürgermeister
Klaus Schneeberger

 

Sehr geehrte Kulturinteressierte!
Geschätzte Besucherinnen und Besucher!

Niederösterreich genießt als Kulturland national wie international einen exzellenten Ruf. Die vielen Einrichtungen und Initiativen unseres Bundeslandes bieten den Besucherinnen und Besuchern ein vielfältiges Kulturangebot, in den unterschiedlichsten Schattierungen.  
Ich bin froh, dass das Netzhaut Ton Film Festival heuer, trotz der großen Herausforderungen der letzten Monate, aus der Taufe gehoben wurde.
Festivals wie dieses zeigen einmal mehr unsere Weltoffenheit, Dynamik und Kreativität im Land Niederösterreich.

Ich wünsche den Initiatoren des Netzhaut Ton Film Festival alles Gute für die erste Auflage und Ihnen schöne Veranstaltungen!

Landeshauptfrau 
Johanna Mikl-Leitner

Tickets
Das Tagesticket umfasst alle kostenpflichtigen Veranstaltungen des Tages, mit Ausnahme der Walking Concerts, für die zusätzlich ein Ticket gekauft werden muss. Ein Online-Kauf von Tagestickets ist nicht möglich. Tagestickets müssen telefonisch unter 02622 373 311 reserviert werden. Die Tickets können ab Reservierungszeitpunkt im Info-Point im Alten Rathaus (Hauptplatz 1-3) abgeholt und bezahlt werden; spätestens jedoch 1 Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn am jeweiligen Spielort, danach erlischt die Reservierung automatisch.

Im Stadttheater ist Karten- und Barzahlung möglich. Im Bürgermeistergarten nur bar.

Ermäßigungen:
10% für Schüler & Studenten
20% für Ö1 Club und Ö1 Intro Mitglieder

Tickets kaufen
 

Anfahrt
Hervorragende Anbindung von Wiener Neustadt ermöglicht es zudem den meisten Festivalbesuchern problemlos, kostengünstig und umweltfreundlich mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln anzureisen. Die Spielorte sind vom Bahnhof in wenigen Minuten zu Fuß erreichbar.

Stadttheater Wiener Neustadt: Herzog-Leopold-Straße 17
Bürgermeistergarten: Johannes-von-Nepomuk-Platz 1

Der letzte Zug zurück nach Wien geht um 00:11 und kommt um 00:59 am Wiener Hauptbahnhof an.

Weitere Infos zur Anreise

Übernachtung
Wr. Neustadt bietet Übernachtungsangebote in allen Preisklassen.

Infopoint Altes Rathaus:
Hauptplatz 1–3, 2700 Wiener Neustadt
Telefon: +43 2622 373-311 
office@wiener-neustadt.at

Hotelempfehlungen

Filmprogramm
Wir zeigen internationale Filme in den drei Programmreihen Spiel-, Dokumentar- und Nachwuchsfilm. In der Anwesenheit der Filmemacher widmet sich die Auswahl dem diesjährigen Schwerpunkt „Wahrheit und Wirklichkeit“.

Zum Programm

Nachwuchsprogramm
Sie kommen von den Filmschulen und sie werden das Bild unserer Welt in Zukunft gestalten: unverfälscht, frisch, humorvoll, wütend, klagend, rebellisch. Sie zeigen heute, was wir morgen sehen werden: die Filmemacher*innen von morgen!

Zum Programm

Musikprogramm
Das Musikprogramm verwandelt die Innenstadt zum Schau- und Hörplatz und verbindet die Spielorte Stadttheater und Bürgermeistergarten.

Zum Programm

Bürgermeistergarten
Frühstück, Sundowner, Konzerte, Podiumsdiskussionen und Kino unter Sternen: Im Schatten der Bäume des Bürgermeistergartens begegnen einander Publikum, Nachwuchs, FilmemacherInnen, MusikerInnen und Presse.

Jury Spielfilm


Tereza Kotyk
Die gebürtige Pragerin Tereza Kotyk lebt und arbeitet als Autorin und Regisseurin in Österreich. Sie studierte an den Universitäten in Wien, Innsbruck und Dijon, besuchte das Actor’s Studio Manchester und hat das EKRAN-Certificate der Wajda Film School in Warschau. Ihr Film Home is Here war u.a. beim Internationalen Festival in Tallinn, Prag und Lecce nominiert und erhielt den Drehbuchpreis des Filmkunstfestes Schwerin.
www.homeishere.at

 


Riem Higazi
Die Moderatorin Riem Higazi wurde in Ägypten geboren und wuchs in Niederösterreich und in Kanada auf. Beim österreichischen Radiosender FM4 moderiert sie u.a. die Sendungen Update oder Reality Check und unterstützt gelegentlich auch das Team der Morning Show.


Gregor Seberg
Der Schauspieler und Kabarettist Gregor Seberg wurde in Graz geboren und studierte an der Musik und Kunst Privatuniversität in Wien. Er wirkte in zahllosen TV und Kinoproduktionen mit und ist einem breiten Publikum aus der Serie Soko Donau bekannt, in der er lange Zeit eine Hauptrolle spielte.
www.gregorseberg.at

 

Jury Dokumentarfilm


Houchang Allahyari
Houchang Allahyari wurde 1941 in Teheran (Iran) geboren, kam als Jugendlicher nach Österreich, absolvierte ein Medizinstudium und praktiziert bis heute als Facharzt für Psychiatrie und Neurologie. In der Öffentlichkeit ist Allahyari aber als Regisseur erfolgreicher Kinofilme bekannt, die auf zahlreichen internationalen Festivals ausgezeichnet wurden.

 


Lukas Beck
Der Fotograf Lukas Beck studierte Ethnologie an der Uni Wien. Seine Arbeiten sind auf Musik, Theater und Film spezialisiert. Seine Bilder waren im Wiener Leopold Museum, der Fotogalerie Westlicht und im Palais Coburg zu sehen und er hat für viele österreichische und internationale Medien fotografiert, u.a. für Die Zeit oder The New York Times.
www.lukasbeck.com


Peter Hudler
Für den Wiener Cellisten Peter Hudler ist sein Instrument bei weitem nicht nur im klassischen Orchester zuhause. Obwohl er sich der Kammermusik verschrieben hat, verbindet er gerne Genres von Barock bis Rock, Jazz, klassischer Moderne und improvisatorischen Elementen. Peter Hudler trat als Solo-Cellist u.a. mit der Camerata Salzburg, dem Mozarteum Orchester Salzburg, den Niederösterreichischen, Le Concert Olympique und an der Wiener Staatsoper auf.  
www.peterhudler.com

Jury Nachwuchsprogramm


Kurt Schwertsik
Zweifellos ist es Kurt Schwertsiks humoristisch-ironischer Veranlagung zu verdanken, dass er nicht nur zu einem der meistgespielten zeitgenössischen österreichischen Komponisten gehört. Schwertsik unterrichtete an der University of California, am Konservatorium der Stadt Wien und bis zu seiner Emeritierung 2003 an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Wien. Kurt Schwertsik hat im Juni dieses Jahres seinen 85. Geburtstag gefeiert.


Luz Olivares Capelle
Luz Olivares Capelle wurde in Argentinien geboren und hat an der E.N.E.R.C in Buenos Aires, so wie an der Filmakademie und an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Wien studiert. Ihre Arbeiten wurden unter anderem mit dem Österreichischen Filmpreis für Kurzfilm, dem Max-Ophüls-Preis, dem Grand Prix für internationalen Kurzfilm beim Cork Filmfestival und dem Preis für den besten österreichischen Fiction-Kurzfilm auf der Diagonale und auf VIS ausgezeichnet.
www.luzolivarescapelle.com


Alexandra Schneider
Die gebürtige Schweizerin Alexandra Schneider absolvierte eine Ausbildung zur Sozialwissenschaftlerin ehe sie schließlich Regie und Schnitt an der Filmakademie Wien. Alexandra Schneider zeichnet als Regisseurin und/oder Editorin für eine Vielzahl von Filmen verantwortlich, für die sie u.a. mit dem Social Awareness Award am Crossing Europe Festival Linz und dem Publikumspreis des Human Rights Filmfestival ausgezeichnet wurde.

 

Künstlerische Leitung
Beim Netzhaut Ton Film Festival Wiener Neustadt steht nicht die Vielzahl der Filme im Vordergrund. In Doublefeatures suchen wir in der Kombination aus jeweils einem Spiel- und einem Dokumentarfilm nach Reibungsflächen, loten gesellschaftliche Kampfzonen aus und suchen den Austausch mit dem Publikum. Wir zeigen internationale Filme in den drei Programmreihen Spiel-, Dokumentar- und Nachwuchsfilm. In der Anwesenheit der Filmemacher*innen widmet sich die Auswahl dem diesjährigen thematischen Schwerpunkt „Wahrheit und Wirklichkeit“. Jeden Abend findet eine große Freilichtvorstellung im Bürgermeistergarten statt.

„Das Netzhaut Ton Film Festival ist Austausch über Film und Musik bei Espresso oder Sundowner, Gespräche mit erfrischend neuen Impulsen bei Sommerfeeling unter dem Sternenhimmel“ – Katharina Stemberger und Fabian Eder, Künstlerische Leitung

Musikalische Leitung
Ihre Lieder sind betörend schön, in einer fast stillen Bescheidenheit ganz selbstverständlich, ohne großartig etwas zu wollen, halten sie die Zeit an, und wir, die zuhören, wünschen, dass dieser flüchtige Moment verweilen möge – eine Strophe noch, bitte, und noch einmal den Refrain. Das Musikprogramm 2020 wird von Die Strottern, Klemens Lendl und David Müller, kuratiert und gestaltet. Und sie werden auch selbst zu hören sein!

Team

Künstlerische Leitung
Katharina Stemberger, Fabian Eder

Filmprogramm
Daniel Ebner, Fabian Eder, Sigrid Hadenius, Astrid Heubrandtner

Musikprogramm und Veranstaltungen
Klemens Lendl, David Müller, Katharina Stemberger

Moderationen
Bernhard Fellinger, Katharina Stemberger

Produktionsleitung
Hanne Lassl, Astrid Heubrandtner

Koordination Stadt Wiener Neustadt
Stefan Kumnig

Presse
IJK | presse + marketing, Ines Kaizik-Kratzmüller

Übersetzungen
Team English Whitfield, Wiener Neustadt

Social Media & Webredaktion
Gregor Schmidinger

Branding & Website
CIN CIN – Studio for Motion, Print & Web Design