Kontakt
Presse
Akkreditierung

11:00 am Saturday, August 29th 2020
Documentary Stadttheater

Buy Tickets

Another Reality
2019, Noël Dernesch, Olli Waldhauer

It is the story of five men with different family backgrounds, who are embedded in structures of gangs and large families and who move on the margins and often beyond legality. In social and media discourse, these realities of life are referred to as "parallel societies".

These five men tell of their lives as members of those criminal clans who have set up mafia structures in German cities in which minor and major crime is normal. Another Reality provides an inside view of this world but also shows different attitudes, developments and possible ways out. While some find it hard to resist the temptation of quick money, others have exchanged being a gangster for a music career or a bourgeois existence.

Another Reality shows the patriarchal structures of a world that works according to its own rules and in which women, like in this film, are not visible.

Director of Photography
Friede Clausz

Editor
Gesa Jäger

Producers
Tanja Georgieva-Waldhauer
Dario Schoch
Rajko Jazbec
Ben Föhr

Production
Elemag Pictures

Country
Deutschland
Schweiz

Length
96 minutes

Born and raised in Zurich, Noël Dernesch studied at the University of Art and Media Design, where he specialized in film/video. Since then he has worked as a freelance director. His debut film Journey to Jah received the DEFA Prize at the Max Ophüls Award 2014 and the Audience Award at the Zurich Film Festival.

Waldhauer is the director of Istanbul United, one of the most successful film debuts of 2014 and was nominated for the German Human Rights Film Award.

Kontakt
Presse
Akkreditierung

11:00 Samstag, 29. August 2020
Dokumentarfilm Stadttheater

Tickets kaufen

Another Reality
2019, Noël Dernesch, Olli Waldhauer

Es ist die Geschichte von fünf Männern mit unterschiedlichen familiären Hintergründen, die in Strukturen von Gangs und Großfamilien eingebettet sind und sich am Rande und oft auch  jenseits der Legalität bewegen. Im gesellschaftlichen und medialen Diskurs werden diese Lebenswirklichkeiten  als „Parallelgesellschaften“ bezeichnet.

Diese fünf Männer erzählen von ihrem Leben als Mitglieder jener kriminellen Clans, die in deutschen Städten mafiöse Strukturen aufgezogen haben, in denen kleinere und größere Kriminalität zur Normalität gehört. Another Reality liefert eine Innensicht dieser Welt, zeigt aber auch unterschiedliche Haltungen, Entwicklungen und mögliche Auswege. Während manche den Verlockungen des schnellen Geldes schwer widerstehen können, haben andere das Gangsterdasein gegen eine Musikkarriere oder bürgerliche Existenzen eingetauscht.

Another Reality zeigt die patriarchalen Strukturen einer Welt, die nach eigenen Regeln funktioniert und in der Frauen, wie auch in diesem Film, nicht sichtbar sind.

Kamera
Friede Clausz

Schnitt
Gesa Jäger

ProduzentInnen
Tanja Georgieva-Waldhauer
Dario Schoch
Rajko Jazbec
Ben Föhr

 

Produktion
Elemag Pictures

Produktionsländer
Deutschland
Schweiz

Länge
96 Minuten

Geboren und aufgewachsen in Zürich, studierte Noël Dernesch an der Hochschule für Kunst und Medien- gestaltung, wo er sich auf Film/Video spezialisierte. Seitdem arbeitet er als freier Regisseur. Sein Debütfilm Journey to Jah erhielt beim Filmfestival Max Ophüls Preis 2014 den DEFA-Preis und den Publikumspreis beim Zurich Film Festival.

Waldhauer ist Regisseur von Istanbul United, eines der erfolgreichsten Filmdebüts des Jahres 2014 und wurde nominiert für den deutschen Menschenrechtsfilmpreis.